Reviews

Reviews

Heidi Gibson
11/6/2019

Erich is a very responsive home builder. He has built several homes for clients of studio 2G Architects. We find his process very organized which helps keep both clients and us abreast of the budget during the phases of the architectural design process. He consistently provides input during the design development phase based on his research whether it is for a material alternative of a different take on a certain detail. Heidi Gibson Partner studio 2G Architects

Fred Farris
8/19/2019

Erich's commitment to his craft and unwavering integrity makes working with him a pleasure!

Rob Feder
7/3/2019

Thinking about building a home? When I am in a place where the ideal home may not exist, I most often turn to my friend and master builder Erich Schaefer. Erich builds beautiful homes, some of the nicest on the Central Coast, and he is cost conscious and very ethical (he’s a business major from Cal Poly). But what has always worked for me is that he listens. Years ago, he developed a system that helps clients put their vision on the drawing board. He has learned to ask questions that people haven’t even thought of. I have been in several meetings when his clients have brought in plans or sketches, and after discussing their lifestyles and needs (not just current requirements, but their needs years from now), I have seen their plans completely change. Over the years, Erich has been my #1 builder resource for my clients looking to build a luxury home or do a major home remodel. Erich is very generous with his time and advice. If you are thinking of building a home, it is well worth your time to spend an hour with Erich … even if you don’t use him. Ask him for one of his building questionnaires. I guarantee it will raise thought provoking questions that have not occurred to you. Rob Feder Associate Broker, Patterson Realty

Laura Gough
7/1/2019

I have had the pleasure to work with Erich, on multiple projects, over the years. As an Architect, it is reassuring to know that the General Contractor, on your project, is professional, responsive, detailed oriented and provides a high level of quality work. He is a contractor that truly has the Client's best interest in mind and goes that extra mile on team work and collaboration which translates to a successful project. I can confidently recommend him to my Clients.

joseph mistretta
6/15/2019

"Schaefer Custom Homes managed our project with great integrity and personal care. Erich brings together the highest quality craftsmanship and management excellence to help you create your own masterpiece.

Dawn Turner
6/14/2019

We have been in our new home in Cayucos for 8 months now. We first met Erich over 20 years ago when he did a small job for us on our house in San Luis Obispo. His work was such quality, that he was the first person we thought of to build our home. He met us at the lot when it was in escrow and worked side by side with us every step of the way. First, let me say Erich's word is golden! He promises and delivers. Second, his subs were all great. We were on site more than most people as we were living less than a mile away, and we became friends with most of the subs. Third, this was not stressful for us! When building a home, the number of decisions seem endless and Erich shouldered the stress for us. If we were to ever build another project or remodel, Erich would be my first phone call! Our home truly is a custom home! John and Dawn Turner

Jason Moore
6/13/2019

"Forden's has had the pleasure of working with Schaefer Custom Homes for years. Erich's attention to detail makes him a sought after contractor in our area. Schaefer Custom Homes does beautiful work and provides a high quality finished product. Erich helps his clients choose the right fireplace for their setting. He is thorough and professional. We are always happy to work with Erich. Forden’s Fireplaces"

Ivet Silva
3/31/2019

Erich supports SLO County Builders Exchange by posting his projects in our weekly bulletin. This allows sub-contractors who are members of SLOCBE -to provide BIDS for sub-contract work. He is well-respected within the construction industry in SLO County.

Rick Wegis
4/5/2017

Erich Schaefer is the only contractor I would consider for another project. I just finished a project with him and on a 10 scale I give him a 20. I've built many projects and homes with other contractors and with my own partner who is a General contractor. I know Erich to track accurate costs and uses perfection as his goal in the details. He is extremely smart and has very studious knowledge of available products to use on any given project. I recommend Erich above all even my own Contractor Partner.

Betty Parlet
4/3/2017

Erich built my house in 2004 and it was a wonderful experience. He has to be the best builder in our area. He is professional, knowledgeable and great to work with. I highly recommend him as he is very detailed and does quality work. I would love to build another home and have him as my builder.

Write a review

Any review will help us to improve our service and give more information to outher people about our business.

Feel free to leave us a personal comment. We won't publish it but will like to hear some extra words from you.

Visit our video library

Watch client testimonials and video home tours

Each home we build and each family we work with is unique. We believe that the best way to communicate our process and our results is by inviting you into the homes we have built and remodeled and by introducing you to the clients we now call friends.